Nichols College News

Nichols First-year Students Selected for Scholarship

First year students Alexandra Morrow and Jake Zapatka experienced the once-in-a-lifetime opportunity when they were presented with a $5,000 Hood® Sportsmanship® Scholarship at Gillette Stadium in May.

Morrow and Zapatka, both Sport Management majors, competed against more than 4,000 students for the prestigious scholarship. As part of the application process, applicants were required to write an essay about sportsmanship. The general public then voted for an applicant, who met in-person for interviews with a panel of judges, who identified the top three in each state.

The competition was intense as only 10 finalists were selected from each state. Zapatka, who was the captain of his high school tennis team, described the application process as “a lot of hard work. I put so much effort into the application process. I am glad that people recognized that.”

All in all, 18 high school seniors received the $5,000 Hood® Sportsmanship® Scholarships. Three high school seniors from each of the six New England states – Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont – were honored for their integrity and sportsmanship on and off the playing field.

Morrow, who served as the captain of her high school’s women’s soccer and basketball teams, recognized the value of this award. “It was a great honor to be selected,” she said. She was also excited about meeting New England Patriots kicker Stephen Gostkowski who presented the scholarship awards and spoke to students about the importance of good sportsmanship.

“We wish each student the very best as they embark on their college career and are proud to add them to the Hood Sportsmanship Scholarship Hall of Fame,” said Lynne Bohan, Hood spokesperson.”

“These students were leaders in their high schools and represent the incoming talent to Nichols,” says Paul Brower, director of admissions. “We’re pleased that among colleges such as Harvard, Middlebury College, the University of Connecticut, and Brown University, Nichols was the only college where two students were selected for this honor.”